Case Studies


ISO 8611:2011(E) refers to a 3-part set of internationally-recognised guidelines used to assess the overall quality of storage pallets after putting them through a lengthy series of tests. Properties such as durability, racking capability and even payload slip resistance are thoroughly tested.
Suppliers (like Simax) that have acquired this ISO accreditation have ensured that their pallets have reached a high standard of product quality, and are expected to maintain said standard for all future customers.
There are 14 types of testing methods listed in this ISO. Here is a brief rundown:
1. Bending tests determine the racking capability of the pallet where both the pallet’s nominal load (lowest safe load value, independent of conditions) and maximum working load (greatest permitted payload weight under specific loading and support conditions) are utilised. Pallet dimensions are also considered. Picture 1 shows the basic setup of the test.

Picture 1

2. Forklifting tests is to test the effect of using forklift and pallet trucks to lift the pallets. Nominal load and maximum working load are also used in this test. Picture 2 shows how the pallet is been tested, with 5 as the support.

Picture 2

3. Compression tests for blocks or stringers determine the compression strength and stiffness of the blocks/stringers or columns of the pallet. Picture 3 shows the tested points of the pallet (a).

Picture 3

4. Stacking tests determine the ability of the pallet’s top and bottom decks to withstand the effects of varied weights on the areas in between blocks or stringers in a block stacking situation. An example of the test is shown in Picture 4; notice that the load applicators are positioned in between the pallet columns.

Picture 4

Stay tuned for further updates and more tests!